Beautiful Disaster- Jamie Mcguire

Image

Author- Jamie Mcguire
Publication date-  14th August 2012
Genre-  Romance, New adult
Book description-  Abby Abernathy doesn’t drink or swear and she works hard. Abby believes she has created enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college, her dreams of a new beginning are quickly challenged by the university’s walking one-night stand. Bad Boy. Travis Maddox, handsome, built, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs – and wants – to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight club, and his days as the notorious college Lothario. A disaster waiting to happen…Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain celibate for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time. Or the start of something beautiful? Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match. Or that this is the start of an obsessive, intense relationship that will lead them both into unimaginable territory…

My Review

Being totally honest the only reason I bought this book was because it was in the ‘similar to Fifty Shades of Grey’. After reading the Fifty Shades books I flew into that pit of fifty shades post depression just like every other person. So when I saw Beautiful Disaster I thought I would give it a go and thank god I did!

It is written in first person, in Abbey Abernathys point of view. She is introduced as the quiet goody two shoes but as the story moves on we learn she’s not so good and she has a big past. After losing her bet with Travis she is left to live with him for an entire month. Over the month they learn new things about each other, learn about each others past and quickly fall in love but not admitting it to each other until the month is up and after dating other people. Long story short, two people with a past fall in love but are scared to admit their feelings and let each other in, when they finally do its happy ever after. Kind of.

If you fall in love with characters easily you will sure fall for Travis within the first two chapters!

There was a few things in this book that made me think WHAT THE HELL!? others that made me a little confused and angry and a lot that made my heart melt! Starting with the what the hells…

At one point in the book Travis starts singing I can’t get no satisfaction in the middle of the cafeteria and the football players sing as back up! At first I thought this was meant to be an exaggerated comparison, unfortunately not, it was a cringe moment in the book and I don’t understand why it happened.
Another what the hell moment is at the end Abby and Travis finally get married in Vegas (shocker.. not) She then gets a tattoo of “MRS MADDOX” and refers to it as her brand! SERIOUSLY!? I found it was little creepy and weird, we live in 2013 everyone knows not to get someones name inked on you! Its strange!

The one thing that confused me is why Jamie Mcguire used Country names in this book I mean one sure but two? America and Brazil were names used in this book and at first I was like huh why is she talking about countries until I realised they were in fact names! Not that its a big thing or really a point I should of made but it just confused me a little.

Moments that got me angry were ones when Travis was ‘trying to get Abby back’ I would normally call this stalking. He sat outside her apartment for days, he was controlling and seemed to find any way possible to keep her to himself all the time. He bought her a puppy just to bring her back to his apartment… CREEP! although many people ask why people get pulled into these bad boy characters who are violent and abusive to others I have to say I am a sucker for it. These controlling and violent characters always make me swoon, no idea why! Must be the writers effects.

Moving on to the good points, I love this book more than anything even though I have had a little moan about it, I have to admit it is my favorite book I have read so far, so different and intense. I sat through this book crying along with the characters emotions and getting butterflies when the cute little moments happened. The sexual tension between Travis and Abby was almost unbearable, you can tell they are in love and how much they want each other and its so frustrating reading about Abby going on dates and Travis hooking up with girls. I’m not going to lie it broke my heart a little! I recommend this book to ANYONE AND EVERYONE its perfect for any romance fan.

I always find self-published books to be the best they aren’t always well known so when a book like BD gets big you know we have another talented author in the world.

Coming back to the beginning of my review, I don’t see why Beautiful Disaster was linked to Fifty Shades at all. Yes the characters have a past but fifty shades is all about the dominance and learning how to love etc  whereas BD is about just love, there is no crazy wild sex scenes or red rooms like FS. I’m glad I found this book though as it has really inspired me to write more and learn more about self publishing.

I am giving this book a 5 out of 5 because I loved it that much!
I am suggesting that everyone reads it even if romance isn’t your genre.

I will be doing a review on Walking Disaster Jamie Mcguire’s second book, the same story but from Travis Maddox’s point of view, in the next few days be sure to keep an eye out for it.

If you would like to leave me some feedback or let me know what you thought of this book then feel free!
send me a tweet or leave a comment

https://twitter.com/PaperCutsReview

Thanks!

Until next time my fellow readers

Stephanie
xox

24 thoughts on “Beautiful Disaster- Jamie Mcguire

  1. I have read this book and I agree with your review its exacily how i felt. Keep up the good work love reading your blog.

  2. Pretty section of content. I simply stumbled upon your
    website and in accession capital to say that I get in fact enjoyed
    account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I fulfillment you get admission to constantly fast.

  3. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking
    about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Many thanks

    • Hey its actually a lot easier than I thought! I had kept saying I wanted to rather than actually do it but I finally have . I chose wordpress thinkkng oh god I have no idea how to work this but once you get the basics its easy! I also worried about putting loads of effort in and then having no one read it. So I say just go for it and write what ever you like! Its your blog. My advice is to make a twitter or Facebook for your blog to so you can in a away advertise it and get more readers ect. Good luck!

  4. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or

    advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this
    article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  5. A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a bit analysis on this.
    And he in actual fact bought me breakfast as a result of I

    found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat!
    But yeah Thnkx for

    spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love reading

    extra on this topic. If doable, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your weblog with
    extra

    details? It is extremely helpful for me. Massive thumb
    up for this

    blog post!

  6. I’m impressed, I need to say. Actually rarely do I encounter a

    weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve got hit the nail on the head. Your

    thought is excellent; the difficulty is one thing that not

    sufficient persons are speaking intelligently about. I am very

    completely satisfied that I stumbled throughout

    this in my search for one thing regarding this.

  7. I just want to tell you that I’m newbie to blogs and definitely loved you’re web site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You really come with amazing posts. With thanks for sharing with us your web page.

  8. Pingback: social media buttons for blogs

Leave a Reply

