Wide Awake – Shelly Crane

15810336

Author- Shelly Crane
Publication date- 22nd March 2013
Genre- Romance, Young adult, Mystery
Book Description-  When Emma Walker wakes up in the hospital with no knowledge of how she got there, she learns that she’s been in a coma for six months. Strangers show up and claim to be her parents, but she can’t remember them. She can’t remember anyone. Not her friends, not even her boyfriend. Even though she can’t remember, everyone wants her to just pick up where she left off, but what she learns about the old her makes her starts to wish she’d never woken up. Her boyfriend breaks up with the new girls he’s dating to be with her, her parents wants her to start planning for college, her friends want their leader back, and her physical therapist with the hazel eyes keeps his distance to save his position at the hospital.

My review

I have been hearing about this book a lot the past few weeks and I knew that I had to read it, so I finally purchased it and began reading straight away. Starting the book I found it was in first person and was being told by Emma Walker the girl who has been in a coma for the last six months. I loved the beginning of this book so much it was so different and basic yet amazing. For the first few chapters the book was set in near enough one room. Emma had just woken up from the coma and was unable to move around much, she had visits from her family her boyfriend and also Mason her therapist. What I loved most about the beginning of this book was how Emma knew nothing about her future or her past and it was as though she was in the same position as the reader. She didn’t know anything about herself or what was going to happen in the next few days, months etc and neither did we.

I loved the part when Andy admits the whole thing was his fault and the little twist with Mason knowing her before her coma that I didn’t expect. Although I did have a feeling it was going to be down to Andy as soon as we met him in the book.

I also liked Masons character a lot he wasn’t the common bad boy turned good that we get in a lot of stories but he did have one of those pasts that a lot of characters always seem to have.

There seems to be a lot of guys in stories these days with tattoos and a bad boy thing going on and this story had a bit of that but not all that the others have.

This story really made me think wow what would I do or how would feel if I woke up one day and didn’t remember anything about myself, my friends, family or my life and I think this is what makes this book different to others its not only a love story but its an eye opener on life.

Moving on to the things I didn’t like about this book now, firstly as soon as Andy was introduced into the story I hated him, I think I read one or two little sentences and I just hated him. He is just an annoying character but he is the bad guy of the story I guess. I think his death could have been different, well not different I think it could’ve been better if he admitted what he had done to everyone and then maybe got his punishment with the law rather than end his life.

I also felt like there was far too much “I licked my lips”, “He licked his lips”, “She licked her lips”. After reading this around 4 times I started to get a little bored, repetition is fine but there is a limit. I know Shelly Crane was most likely trying to just give us more of an image of the characters but i’m starting to wonder how dry these characters lips are!? I must have read those little words around 10-15 times throughout this book.

Another thing I found I didn’t like was the parts when Mason was helping Emma cross things of her bucket list such as go to prom, dance in a field etc I found this too similar to Nicholas sparks’s A walk to remember when Landon Carter is helping Jamie with her bucket list when he finds she has cancer!

There were a few grammatical errors and issues with the characters, some being there too little and some just not making sense. I did like the beginning of this book a lot and its a shame it didn’t keep me as interested as I would have liked, I may give it a second chance and re-read this book when I have time and see if I feel different about it then.

For now though I am giving this book a 3/5. If you can deal with a lot of repetition and predictable moves then you will have no problems with this book. Honestly I would say read it, it did have its amazing parts maybe it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my review and wish for everyone to have a read of this book and let me know what you think of it!

Feel free to give me some feedback or leave me your opinions, send me a comment or a tweet!

https://twitter.com/PaperCutsReview

Leave a Reply

